3 thoughts on “Academic jobs post-PhD: talk to Surrey SEL PGRs, 5th December 2016”

  1. Great post Charlotte, my post-doc trajectory followed a very similar course, a number of fixed term or tenuously relevant positions, all of which gave me something which eventually helped me land the permanent lecturer post I have now.
    2 out of 3 of the jobs I had came about by accident, or as a result of applications I nearly didn’t make – I think sometimes when you really don’t expect to get something you relax a bit and your personality shows through and paints you in a good light. Well done on making it through, i just wish we could say it gets easier from now on!

    1. Thanks for your comment and well done to you as well. I agree about feeling relaxed – I know a surprising number of people who have said the same, having got jobs they applied for on a whim or really not expecting to get anywhere with. Although I was very nervous ahead of my last interview, thankfully it still worked out!

Leave a Reply

